More Lessons Part 1

This blog is inspired by the devlogs over at TIGSource where indie game makers detail how they work and how they overcome all kinds of problems, in an atmosphere of supportive critique. So today I’ll give two more examples of doing things wrong…

First up, I put up a little video clip to promote a Glitchpuke presentation in my school.

https://youtu.be/uddRvfTYovM

The moment after uploading, I thought of two things that could have been improved:
1) It would’ve been better to have the whole band and not just me
2) It would’ve been better to show my face, because people like to see faces and to put more personality into the video

I even thought of a pretty likely psychological reason why I made mistake no. 2 – what we could call Master Chief Syndrome.

Master Chief, the player character in the Halo series of video games.

Master Chief, the player character in the Halo series of video games.

I’d define Master Chief Syndrome as the wish to be a faceless, technologically-augmented destructive being. Obviously, this drives a lot of great video games (and mech-suit anime, etc.) aimed at adolescent males. But for promoting Glitchpuke, it’s something to avoid next time.

Leave a Reply

